What’s your Crisis?

*to the tune of ghostbusters*
If there’s a crisis in your neighborhood
Who ya gonna call?
Call Crisis!!

Youth Villages Crisis Responders are available to youth and families in most counties across the state of Tennessee. We have responders that work flexible schedules to ensure the needs of those families in crisis are met when they need us most.

What do you enjoy in your free time?
I enjoy spending time with my family (wife and 2 kids).  I also like to read, watch movies, and play games.

Where were you born?
I was born in Atlanta, GA.  I did not relocate to work for crisis but I am very thankful to be able to live in a city that I love while doing a job that I very much enjoy!

What do you love about living in your area? What do you do for fun?
There are many fun opportunities in the Chattanooga, TN area for fun and good times.  There are many cool things to do with our family.  My favorite activities in this area are going to the different parks and outside activities.

What’s your educational background?
I received a degree in Psychology for my undergraduate degree at Covenant College and then a Master’s degree in Marriage and Family Therapy at Reformed Theological Seminary.

What is the most rewarding part of your job? Most challenging?
The most rewarding part of my job is seeing children and families in some of their most difficult times and being a part of helping them use their strengths and resources to get through those times. There are challenging aspects of being a crisis counselor.  I would say that one of the most challenging parts of the job is being able to quickly adjust to a range of unpredictable situations that come our way.

What drew you to Youth Villages?
I did not know too much about Youth Villages when I first started working for them.  Initially it was an opportunity to begin working in the mental health field that brought me to YV.  However, I would say that it is Youth Villages’ commit to the children and families we serve as well as the respect of their employees that has kept me going for more than 10 years now.

As you can see, Youth Villages has Crisis Counselors in Chattanooga, Tennessee, in addition to other locations. If you are looking to help Mallory avert crisis and ultimately help children and families live successfully, email your resume to Tarekia.Dentley@youthvillages.org. We would love to have you join our team!

For more information, visit http://www.youthvillages.org.

 

Leave a Reply

