What’s your Crisis?

*to the tune of ghostbusters*
If there’s a crisis in your neighborhood
Who ya gonna call?
Call Crisis!!

Youth Villages Crisis Responders are available to youth and families in most counties across the state of Tennessee. We have responders that work flexible schedules to ensure the needs of those families in crisis are met when they need us most.

Today, you get to meet 3 Crisis Responders, working in 3 different locations, Memphis, Rural West and Chattanooga, TN.

First, we journey to Memphis and meet Natasha.

What do you enjoy in your free time?
When I have free time, I like to spend time with my children. We love to do arts and crafts together! When I have personal time, I enjoy getting a massage and pedicure!

Where were you born?
I was born and raised in Memphis, TN!

What do you love about living in your area? What do you do for fun?
I love living in the mid-south area because of its unique historical aspects. For fun, I try to attend small town plays to support the arts.

What’s your educational background?
I attended Central High School right here in Memphis, TN. After receiving my high school diploma, I attended Hannibal La-Grange University and completed a Bachelors of Arts in Psychology. In, 2015 I completed my Master’s of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling from Walden University. I am currently pursuing my Ph.D in Human Behavior at Capella University.

What is the most rewarding part of your job? Most challenging?
One of the most rewarding parts of being a responder for the Crisis team is hearing the “thank you” from the parents and guardians whom have struggled to find someone that cares about the mental health of their child. It makes me feel as if I have lifted a small amount and stress off their shoulders and replaced it with hope and faith that everything will work out. One of the most challenging parts about being apart of the crisis team is having a “one and done” case with the youth and their family. When working with the youth who leave an imprint on my heart, I wish I could follow them throughout their mental health journey.

What drew you to Youth Villages?
Youth Villages has always inspired me to be the counselor that I am today. Growing up, I had a mentor from Youth Villages while in high school. My mentor helped me through some of the most difficult times any high school girl would go through. After graduating high school, I become a mentor for a young female mentee. I enjoyed every minute of it and knew that Youth Villages would be a place I would grow and give back to my community.

As you can see, Youth Villages has Crisis Counselors in Memphis, in addition to other locations. If you are looking to help Natasha avert crisis and ultimately help children and families live successfully, email your resume to Tarekia.Dentley@youthvillages.org. We would love to have you join our team!

For more information, visit www.youthvillages.org.

Leave a Reply

