Meet Felicia Washington, Teacher at Youth Villages’ Dogwood Campus

Meet Felicia Washington, an energetic teacher that does not accept “no” at Youth Villages’ Dogwood Campus.Felicia Washington -- Teacher Spotlight

What was your educational/experience background before coming to Youth Villages?

Before coming to Youth Villages my teaching experience spans from Shelby County to Fayette County School districts.  I taught classes that range from inclusion to multiple handicap classes. I received my undergraduate degree in Business Administration. I have a Master’s in Education & Leadership from Bethel University, and as of May 2015, I am due to receive my Ed.S. in Curriculum & Instruction in Culture, Cognition and the Learning Process from Middle Tennessee State University.

What do you love about living in your town? What do you do for fun?

I have traveled both near and faraway, but at the end of the day there is no place like home (Memphis). Memphis has some of the best tourist attractions and history such as the Civil Rights Museum, Stax Museum, Pink Palace Museum, Gibson Guitar Museum, and our famous Memphis Zoo. Memphis is also known for fine cuisines and some of the best barbecue in the world. It is very affordable when it comes to cost of living with the option of big city living or the suburbs if you prefer.

For fun I like going to the movies, attending my favorite church NGIC,  shopping, volunteering at Youth Villages for various projects, shopping, traveling, and oh yeah going shopping!

What is the most challenging part of your job?

One of the challenging parts of my job is working very hard to reintegrate youth back into a general school setting as they prepare to return home, but not personally being able to follow-up with them after they leave our campus. I carry these children in my heart and I always wonder about them. While firm in the classroom, they know that I genuinely love them.

What is the most rewarding part of your job?

The most rewarding part of my job is when my students ask me if I can come teach on Saturday and Sunday because they enjoy being in my class!  I also find it rewarding to help my students overcome emotional and behavior struggles in the classroom, help them understand that they can overcome obstacles in life, and show them that learning can be fun. I remind them to always be a student in life and always be in a position to learn something. I also learn so much from them.

Leave a Reply

