Meet Ross Stephens: Knoxville Foster Care Counselor

Ross StephensMeet Ross Stephens, Foster Care Counselor in Knoxville

What is your educational background (college, major, etc.)?

I obtained Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from Carson-Newman University. BA Spanish and Education, MS Behavioral Health and Counseling.

What did you do before coming to Youth Villages?

I owned and ran a private investigation company with a long time friend.

What do you love about your city/what do you do for fun in your city?

Knoxville has a high number of restaurants per capita, and my wife and I like to try new foods – international and domestic.

What are your hobbies? (It is national hobby month!)

I like languages and learning phrases from new languages, watching movies and cooking.

What is your favorite part about your job/about working for Youth Villages?

Day 1 of my YV career, I shadowed someone who was going to let one of our parents know that she could take her new daughter home for the first time. So, what is my favorite part? It’s that no matter what our job is at Youth Villages, if we answer the phone, take out the trash, run an entire region, all of us change the lives of the children of America everyday. We work in a company that literally saves lives. I love it.

What is the most challenging part of your job?

Of course everything is a work in progress but for me, finding the perfect work/life balance can be challenging. My wife and I tried for 5 years to have our little boy Tobias so I want to spend every moment I can with him.

What is one fun/interesting fact about you?

I was a college professor by age 24 and wrote a 375 page novel that was rejected 82 times for publication.

Join Ross today and become a counselor at Youth Villages in Knoxville by applying at http://www.youthvillages.org/jobs.

Leave a Reply

