Shelbi’s Summer Internship Experience

This summer was one of the best summers of my life. I worked on the Dogwood Campus in cottage  5. When I first came to Memphis, I was afraid and I did not know what I was getting into. I knew it was going to be an experience but I had no idea that this would be the most influential summer of my life. I looked forward to going to work everyday. My youth were awesome. I even got to celebrate my 21st birthday at work. My most enjoyable moment was coming into work one day and seeing my most “off-task” youth meet “gold” three days in a row – indicating he was displaying positive behavior change. It made my day to see that he was working on improving. I had some very active boys and outside recreation time was their favorite although I can’t say it was my favorite activity with the Memphis heat! Despite that, I enjoyed my summer internship experience. The staff of Youth Villages made me feel very welcomed and I felt like I belonged there. This summer I gained patience and a lot of respect for the people who work in the cottages with the youth year-round. I am excited about the potential to work for Youth Villages in the future either as an intern again or as a YV 360 staff member.intern blog

Leave a Reply

