David’s Fitness Story

I lost almost 50 pounds (50 POUNDS!) from taking advantage of Youth Village’s fitness and health options.  Making a change like that is never a simple thing to do but with the incentives and support I got from YV, it made my transition much easier.  I started out when a co-worker asked me to go to a Weight Watchers meeting with her.  I said “yes” in order to offer my support but with the idea that I’d go to the meetings but not really try to do it.  The added incentive was that if I lost 10 lbs. in 10 weeks, then the program was free.  With that in mind, I figured I’d just work out a bit and wear light clothes for my final weigh-in to make the goal.

For the first week of Weight Watchers, I ate whatever I wanted and didn’t exercise at all.  The next week, I was in the meeting and told myself that I should at least give it a shot.  So I started following the plan and with the encouragement of my co-workers in the meetings, I was able to do amazingly well.  I added in the physical activity that I had planned on, and before I knew it, 10 weeks was up and I’d lost well over 10 lbs.!  The best part was that it was all free!

After that triumph, I decided to keep moving forward.  Running was my preferred exercise so I continued to do that.  My work partner had recently run her first marathon and she was a major inspiration to me for improving my running abilities.  I began racing 5Ks and also doing some running on Youth Villages’ residential campuses with our kids in their Runner’s Club events.  I also joined a running group (thanks again to my work partner) that included some other people connected with YV.  I could tell I was becoming more energized in general and that I felt absolutely fantastic.

I continued on with the Weight Watchers as well and that led to me taking advantage of another YV health perk: a personal trainer.  When an employee has proven themselves in the Weight Watchers program they are able to explore the option of working with a personal trainer employed by YV (at no cost to employees).  I looked into it and was granted permission to participate.  I began to work out with the personal trainer twice each week.  This added a new dynamic to my fitness and also helped with continued weight loss, increased energy, and overall good feelings.

Jump to the present and I’m still feeling great.  I’m well within a healthy weight for my height and age and I’m building muscle and feeling amazing.  I’ve also completed some of my running goals including running a half-marathon and a full marathon.  These accomplishments have helped to fuel me on to a much healthier life style that I can feel and everyone can see.  I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon.  Plus, there’s another marathon to run in just a few short months!

– David Padowicz, Recruiter at Youth Villages

Leave a Reply

