Meet Candace Whitaker, Summer Intern at Youth Villages

When I heard about the Youth Villages internship opportunity I was rather weary. I didn’t know if it was something that I would want to do being almost 11 hours from my home in South Carolina. I had never been that far from home for such a long period of time, and I am very much a homebody. I applied anyway and was thrilled to hear that I had made it to the interview process. Since that interview with Sister Barbara, one of the most beautiful women I have ever met, my life has changed forever. I am so glad I took advantage of the opportunity that brought me to Memphis, TN.

Through this internship, I have learned so much. I have grown intellectually, professionally, emotionally and spiritually. This experience allowed me to learn things that I will carry with me for the rest of my life, and that will help me succeed in the future. Working with these kids has been one of the most rewarding things I think I will ever experience. Through working with them I feel that I have not only been able to teach them things and make an impact on their future, but they have made an impact on me. Every day was not easy. There were days that I wondered if I was cut out for the job. After the last ten weeks, I realized that there is no career path more suitable for me. Most days I could not wait to get to work. The YV internship did not just feel like a job, but I discovered it was my passion.

The YV internship has opened up so many doors for me. I would love nothing more than to one day find myself back here. YV is an organization that truly cares for not just the children and families that they serve, but their employees as well. I immediately felt welcomed into a huge, caring family of people that all wanted to see the same beautiful goal achieved- to help as many children and families as possible live successfully, despite the odds and the risks that they may face. I made so many lasting relationships this summer, and I wouldn’t change that for the world. I will be forever grateful to have been a part of this family for these ten short weeks. I will carry these memories with me forever!

– Candace Whitaker, Psychology major at the University of South Carolina

One Response to Meet Candace Whitaker, Summer Intern at Youth Villages

  1. Robert Whitaker says:

    It was a long ten weeks and me and momma missed you like crazy, but I’m glad you had such a wonderful opportunity to be involved with such a great place like this. I’m sure you made a positive impact on some child’s life, and I’m sure some of them did the same for you.

Leave a Reply

