Lessons from YV Summer Interns

As the 2011 YV summer internship comes to a close, we asked 2 interns to share about what they learned working in our residenial programs this summer.

Kevin Rios spent the summer on our Dogwood Campus:

“My summer with Youth Villages has been amazing! Not only was it a great experience, but I learned so much from my staff, the youth, and other interns. Processing with my residents and helping them grow into mature, responsible, young adults is a very rewarding feeling. At first, I did not know what to expect. In fact, I was a little nervous during the first week.  The butterflies quickly disappeared after my staff showed me the ropes. My residents were also welcoming of me. A great way to earn their respect and trust is to interact with them as much as possible. Joining in on their conversations, playing sports, and participating in activities are excellent ways to get them to open up to you. What is also great about this internship is that you are able to counsel kids while you are working on your undergraduate degree.  I will miss my residents dearly, seeing the improvements they have made will make leaving them hard. Interning for Youth Villages has helped prepare me for a career in counseling or psychology. I plan on applying again for next summer. I recommend anyone interested in helping troubled youth to do the same, you will not regret it!”

Patrick Allen worked in our Recreational Therapy Department:

“Working at Youth Villages truly informed me of how tolerant you must be to work with at-risk youth as well as working with anyone with Mental Health issues. One piece of advice that I really took to heart during orientation is that I should not take anything the kids do or say personally. Inappropriate comments or any kind of rudeness from the children was faced with stern spontaneity from me. Anything bizarre or odd enough might get them to laugh or puzzle them into silence. Of course you have to use mature discretion with how far your topics go, but this has worked every time I have used it. The kids may get frustrated with your unusual responses, but any initiative they take into thinking about what you tell them is a positive thing and means they’re listening.”

Thank you to all the 2011 Summer Staff for sharing your summer with Youth Villages!

4 Responses to Lessons from YV Summer Interns

  1. Christine Lowe says:

    I would like to submit a cover letter and my resume; would you please let me know who I should send it to along with a e-mail addres. Thanks

    Christine Lowe

  2. MaryamW says:

    1. I’m puting finishing touches on my resume for the 2012 Summer Internship. Any tips?

    2. Do the individuals who turned in applications early (November 1) get any preference over those who didn’t?

    3. Generally speaking, when should we get a response as to if we’ve been accepted or not?

    Thank you!

    Maryam W.

    • yvaubrey says:

      Hi Maryam,

      Tips would be to include and highlight experience you have working with youth or families – that definitely includes volunteer experience! Also be sure to include any leadership experience you’ve had as well if any. No preferential treatment for those that submitted application before Nov. 1 deadline, however those that did will know of their status (accepted, not accepted, waitlisted) by mid-December. If you apply by the second deadline of Feb. 1, you will know that status in mid-March. If for some reason you are not being considered at any time, we will let you know. You will probably hear something from our Summer Internship Manager within 2-3 weeks of submitting your application either scheduling an interview or letting you know if for some reason you are not being considered at that time.

      Best of luck and we are glad you are interested in Youth Villages!

Leave a Reply

