Meet the YV family: Dr. Himabindu Ravi, North Carolina Medical Director

Dr. Himabindu Ravi, North Carolina Medical Director

Why did you decide to work for Youth Villages?
“I decided to work at Youth Villages because of their commitment and dedication to providing quality care to our most needy youth. Youth Villages has adapted evidence-based programs and is constantly looking to improve ways to provide the best care.”

Where are you from originally?
“I am originally from India. I moved to the United States in 1993 and have lived in North Carolina since 1995.”

Where did you attend medical school?
“I completed medical school at the University of Health Sciences in India, a general psychiatry residency at Eastern Virginia Medical School and fellowship in child and adolescent psychiatry at Duke University Medical Center.”

What do you like best about your job?
“The best part of my job is being able to integrate all aspects of care such as therapy, psychiatric services and primary care services. I was on faculty at Duke University Medical Center for several years and had the opportunity to participate in and conduct clinical research that led to evidence-based guidelines for many childhood psychiatric disorders. I am excited to be in a position to disseminate these findings.”

What’s something most people don’t know about you?
“I enjoy experimenting with different cuisines.”

What do you like to do for fun?
“I like to spend time with my husband and teenage son, as well as reading and traveling.”

Leave a Reply

