Meet the YV family: Marla Avery Family Counselor — Wilmington, N.C.

Marla Avery

Why did you choose to work for Youth Villages?
“I really liked their values and enjoy working to help others. Youth Villages was very well organized and I observed that the staff working there were very dedicated to the families that they serve.”

Where are you from originally?
“I am originally from Plymouth, N.C.”

What do you like best about your job?
“I like when I have worked with a family and things begin to turn around for them in a positive way. I enjoy working with the parent or guardian to decrease the frustrations and behaviors in the home. It brings me great joy to see the family complete treatment successfully.”

What’s something most people don’t know about you?
“When I was 6 months old, I had spinal meningitis with a temperature that reached 105. I was in the hospital for several months and was lucky not to have hearing problems or other health problems.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

